The story continues. One of the more confusing moments of Raw last night was the sudden finish to the match between Mickie James and Asuka for the Raw Women’s Championship. The two competitors appeared to be in a submission spot, when the referee stopped the match saying that James couldn’t continue.
It had been previously reported that James suffered an injury during the match and as a result, the referee made the decision to stop the match midway through. However, this may not actually be the case.
According to Brian Alvarez on Wrestling Observer Radio, multiple sources are saying the referee simply botched the finish and that Mickie is not injured. It is believed that the referee thought she was hurt, so he called the match, but he was just wrong and it was too late to go back on the call.
Check out some action from last night:
We will continue to monitor this story and provide any updates as they become available to us.
I was very confused while watching this match last night and am glad to hear that she is not hurt. It looks like we will get another match between the two as there was a controversial finish, which is fine with me. I look forward to seeing these two legends back in the ring one more time!
What do you think of the situation involving Mickie James and Asuka from Raw last night? Leave us a comment below, or post a comment on our Facebook page! Also, be sure to sign up for our newsletter!