Since WWE can’t just let us go from the Royal Rumble to Wrestlemania without multiple pay per views in between, we now have “Elimination Chamber 2018” and that means a double shot of Elimination Chambers. Why bother making one of the matches work better when you can just do it twice and hope people will care more that way? It’s a rather slim card but a double Chamber match should help a lot. Let’s get to it.

Kickoff Show: Anderson and Gallows vs. Miztourage

This feels like a way to extend (Or is it start?) Miz vs. Finn Balor, and that’s not the worst idea in the world. I can always go for a battle of the goons, especially when Miz’s goons are very good at what they do. There’s a good chance this sets up a six man or just a singles match down the line and for a match that doesn’t have a lot of meaning to it, that should be just fine.

I’ll take the Miztourage as this feels like the kind of match where they would set you up for Gallows and Anderson to win easily and then throw in a swerve. Miztourage winning via cheating would make sense and draw Balor in, which seems to be the goal of the whole thing. This should be fine for an opener though and that’s all it needs to be.

Luke Gallows & Karl Anderson vs. The Revival: Raw, Feb. 12, 2018

Luke Gallows & Karl Anderson vs. The Revival: Raw, Feb. 12, 2018

Asuka vs. Nia Jax

Now this one doesn’t do much for me. The whole thing has been about Jax being the one to dethrone Asuka and end the undefeated streak and…..why would I believe that? We’ve been here multiple times with Jax now and she just doesn’t win the big matches. They’ve built her up as an unstoppable monster in both NXT and WWE and it’s the same thing every time.

So yeah, Asuka wins here and does so in the same manner she’s done it every single time now: survive Jax’s impressive offense and then win in the end with some kind of a hold. They’re not going to give her the Women’s Royal Rumble win and then lose the undefeated streak six weeks before “Wrestlemania XXXIV”. That doesn’t make sense and we’ve been here before. Stop with the same story.

Nia Jax ambushes Asuka: Raw, Feb. 19, 2018

Nia Jax ambushes Asuka: Raw, Feb. 19, 2018

Matt Hardy vs. Bray Wyatt

This is another match we’ve seen before and it’s already lost a bunch of its steam. Wyatt is the same person he’s been for years and Hardy is now feeling like he’s playing the Woken character rather than being the Woken character like he was back in TNA. The fact that we’ve already seen them fight doesn’t help either and now we’re watching them again, which doesn’t make me care about it any more.

I’ll take Wyatt to win here as Hardy is already down lower than he was when he became the new character in the first place. Wyatt could be built up for a “Wrestlemania XXXIV” match but Hardy is seeming more and more destined for some thrown together match. That’s not the most surprising thing, but maybe they’ll throw him a win here and give it one more try. I wouldn’t be stunned, but I’m really not expecting it.

"Woken" Matt Hardy vs. Bray Wyatt: Raw 25, Jan. 22, 2018

"Woken" Matt Hardy vs. Bray Wyatt: Raw 25, Jan. 22, 2018

Tag Team Titles: The Bar(c) vs. Titus Worldwide

This is a thing that’s happening too and while I get why (we’ll get to that in a minute), it’s not the most thrilling match around. Titus Worldwide has been built up as being able to beat the Bar (except that one time they didn’t) so there’s some drama, but it’s not like this is the most thrilling match in the world.

That being said, I’ll go with new champions in WWE’s effort to celebrate Black History Month. This wouldn’t be the biggest surprise in the world and that’s not a bad thing, as the tag division really needs some fresh blood. Giving Titus Worldwide the titles, even for a short while, would offer that fresh blood and you could always go back there later if necessary. For now though, the Bar loses but they’ll likely get the belts back soon enough.

Titus Worldwide vs. Sheamus & Cesaro: Raw, Feb. 19, 2018

Titus Worldwide vs. Sheamus & Cesaro: Raw, Feb. 19, 2018

Women’s Elimination Chamber

Here we have another of those firsts that WWE loves to do anymore and….yeah I really don’t see why they shouldn’t. The women’s division has been built up well enough to support something like this so why not do one? It’s not as big as the Royal Rumble last month but it also doesn’t feel tacked on for the sake of tacking it on. It’s better than the tag version in 2015 at least.

I’ll take Alexa Bliss to retain here because really, what other options are there? Mandy Rose and Sonya Deville are this match’s Carlito and Chris Masters, Mickie James isn’t winning anything anytime soon, and Bayley is a lost cause. I guess there’s a possibility of Sasha Banks winning it, but Jax vs. Bliss is about as logical of a match as you have for the title at “Wrestlemania XXXIV” so we’ll go with that.

Sasha Banks, Bayley & Mickie James vs. Alexa Bliss, Mandy Rose & Sonya Deville: Raw, Feb. 19, 2018

Sasha Banks, Bayley & Mickie James vs. Alexa Bliss, Mandy Rose & Sonya Deville: Raw, Feb. 19, 2018

Men’s Elimination Chamber

After this Monday’s insane gauntlet match, I can appreciate WWE trying to do something with this. Really, I can. The result has worked well enough too, as the obvious ending is still obvious but at least they’re giving us a reason to think something might be changing. The gauntlet match kind of gave it away, but at least they’re trying.

And of course Roman Reigns wins. Like really, what else are you expecting? It might take three or four spears to Braun Strowman, but Reigns is going to New Orleans whether we like it or not. Now, like I said, they’ve actually done a good job of making you believe it won’t happen and I completely applaud them for that. Before, ti’s been the most obvious result in the world from January on. Now it’s late February and we’re just getting to it, which should at least make things easier to sit through.

Braun Strowman vs. The Miz - Seven-Man Gauntlet Match Part 6: Raw, Feb. 19, 2018

Braun Strowman vs. The Miz - Seven-Man Gauntlet Match Part 6: Raw, Feb. 19, 2018

Overall Thoughts

I’m really not feeling this show, but that’s more to wanting to get to the big build more than anything else. We have six weeks to go before “Wrestlemania XXXIV” and all I ask for here is some good action. Yeah the booking is pretty obvious, but just let us have something fun along the way. The Chambers should be worth seeing, but the rest of the card doesn’t exactly thrill me. Still though, things might be ok.

Oh and Ronda Rousey’s contract signing. That’s certainly a thing that’s happening too. I’m betting Stephanie McMahon gets involved and that’s the setup for “Wrestlemania XXXIV”, because we’re ALL looking forward to McMahon getting that moment that has eluded her for….well at least a few days by this point.

Remember to check out my website at kbwrestlingreviews.com, follow me on Twitter @kbreviews and pick up the 2018 Updated Version of the History of the WWE Championship in e-book or paperback. Check out the information here:

http://kbwrestlingreviews.com/2018/01/26/new-book-kbs-history-of-the-wwe-championship-2018-updated-version/


And check out my Amazon author page with cheap wrestling books at:


http://www.amazon.com/Thomas-Hall/e/B00E6282W6

MORE IN WRESTLING

  • The WWE Network Celebrates 4 Years Up and Running

    News
  • The Velveteen Dream Shoots on Indie Talents Coming to WWE

    News
  • WWE List the Top Ten Greatest NXT ‘TakeOver’ Matches

    News
  • Roman Reigns on His Fellow ‘Elimination Chamber’ Competitors

    News
  • Jimmy Uso on Reinventing Himself, New Day, Gable & Benjamin

    News
  • Ring of Honor TV Results – February 21, 2018

    News
  • Mixed Match Challenge Results – February 20, 2018

    News
  • Impact Wrestling Talents Complaining About Pay Issues

    News
  • “Impact Wrestling” Rating and Audience – February 22, 2018

    News
  • “Elimination Chamber 2018” Kickoff Show Match Announced

    News